onlyCROATIA Facebook onlyCROATIA Youtube onlyCROATIA Instagram
BELGIUM: Tel: ++32/(0)474 118 946 | E-mail: sales@onlycroatia.com
CROATIA: Tel: +385(0)98/167-4446   | E-mail: info@onlycroatia.com

Railroad of Ciro - 560 km of cycling routes

Railroad of Ciro - Cycling route from Mostar to Dubrovnik

About old railroad

European trend of converting abandoned railroad tracks into cycling routes has arrived in our region.
The Historic Railroad Trail with steam locomotives passes from Mostar alongside Neretva river all the way across the border with Croatia, ending in Dubrovnik.
The construction of this trail started in 1898 and ended in 1901.
Today this trail is reconstructed into a cycling track 200 kilometers long.
 

New cycling experience in Dubrovnik and Mostar area

It's our pleasure to present a converted railroad track of that kind divided in few parts, which is a unique tourist project in the region of Bosnia and Herzegovina and Croatia named The Railroad of Ciro or Ciro's railroad track.
Railroad of Ciro track connects two states and enables nature lovers to explore landscapes, natural and historical attractions while cycling in Bosnia and Herzegovina and Croatia.
Our excursions incorporate the beauties of the South Dalmatian hinterland and coastal area as well as the South of Herzegovina, alongside with the excursions that we organise on a larger Dubrovnik area and cycling on the Ciro's railroad trail, excursions that will satisfy all sorts of nature and gastronomy lovers.

For those who want to enjoy the experience with less effort, we offer rental of high quality MTB e-bikes.
You can start your excursion from Mostar or Dubrovnik, two unique cities with lots of historic monuments.
 

Blagaj // History

During the classical antiquity there existed an Illyrian fortress and a Roman castrum. During the reign of Byzantine Emperor Justinian, several fortified towns were built in the area. Blagaj was mentioned in Constantine Porphyrogenitus’ work De Administrando Imperio as Bona, then part of Zahumlje (Hum).

In the late 12th century, during the rule of Stefan Nemanja (Grand Principality of Serbia), prefect Jurko raised a church dedicated to saints Cosmas and Damian. In the 14th century, during the reign of Bosnian Ban Stjepan II Kotromanić, Hum became part of the Bosnian state. In the 15th century Sandalj Hranić Kosača and his nephew Stephen Vukčić Kosača ruled the Hum and Blagaj territory until the arrival of the Ottomans in 1466. Blagaj is also known as a residential area of Bosnian rulers and particularly of royal families Hranić and Kosača.

In historical sources Blagaj was first mentioned in 1423. During the period of the Ottoman Empire, Blagaj was the seat of the Blagaj Vilayet, and was divided into several neighborhoods. The city had seven mosques, two inns, four musafirhana (guest houses), a madrasa (Bosnian: medresa), two maktab, seven mills and four stone bridges on the river Buna. Bosniaks were majority until 1835, during the Austro-Hungarian period Christians constituted twice as many. An Orthodox Church was built in 1893 and a Roman Catholic church in 1908.

Railroad of Ciro cycling route: What to do / What to see?

 

Cities along Railroad of Ciro cycling route